This is the first of three updates that I’ll publish over the next few hours.

I’ve come to a few realizations today. I’ve known for awhile now, that a big thing holding me back has been my self-doubt. I’ve always been second-guessing my animations and re-working them to try and perfectly match my vision for what I think they should be. Because of this, I have a handful of unfinished animations and piles of ideas that haven’t gotten anywhere yet.

I have high ambitions, and initially set a high bar for my animations- bars which prevent me from enjoying my craft to the fullest, bars that prevent me from finishing animations because I have not reached them. Well, I need to tighten the scope of my ideas, and my animations. In order to get moving forward, I have to have a starting point. I can’t just continually re-start over and over, I have to just end up trusting myself. Trusting myself to let the chips fall where they may, and grow from each animation I complete.

I’ve been working on a idea for a series for about 5 years now, named Soul-Driven. For inspiration I look towards fantasy books I read growing up, and heavily towards music. Well in order to actually get moving with my animations and the series in general, I have to not rely so heavily on references for my inspiration, and let my creativity do the brunt of the work. I also have to scale down my scope for the project. Over the years the broad story I want to tell with this series has gotten a bit complicated and I realized today while brainstorming- that I don’t have to tell everything in this one project. There’s enough side stories and different characters to fill other projects, I need to focus on the overall arc, and use the experience to create even better animations.

There’s a certain style I’m aiming for, and it’s the combination of three different artists I highly admire. The next update will focus on them, to give you an idea of where I’m headed. Lastly, I’ll give you a glimpse at drawings and animations I’m going to work on tonight, so it will be my most up to date work. This will give you an idea of my starting point, so I can finally move forward.

About thiskidanimation

I don't really know what to put here right now. I'm sure I'll think of something awesome.

One response »

  1. Mahi says:

    Hello steve

    I would like to know more bout animation and Mr.Alli said ur the right person, Can you please send me ur phone number

    Thanks
    Mahi

Leave a Reply

