So I’ll be uploading the painting and drawing studies of the 2 dudes characters later today, but I wanted to first show you all the progression I went through with finally making my sister her birthday card.

So her birthday was on October 18th, and that was right around the time I had started back into experimenting with painting. I didn’t get to see her until a few days after her birthday, and I had told her it would be coming soon, that I wanted to paint something for her. Well I tried at first to paint alot of different singers and artists she and I both like, then I tried to paint some different techniques in hope I could apply that to one of our old childhood photos, but nothing ever turned out right. To me, it just wasn’t good enough to go on her card. So I was frustrating myself by trying, then leaving it alone for a few days, and trying again. Stuff just wasn’t clicking. So I got tired of not getting it to her one day and just sketched something silly- me as a kid with my heart in my hand, and the text below saying ” I’m sorry I just love you “. After I did that I realized the message is what I was going for, not the painting aspect. I could spend two years painting and it still wouldn’t come out good enough, simply because she’s one of the most important people in the world to me. So I decided to just do a picture of us when we were younger- me playing with toys and her (like always) watching out for me. Here’s the inital sketch in flash –

this is it with the line work done –

And then here’s the finished card-

Happy Birthday Robin!

About thiskidanimation

I don't really know what to put here right now. I'm sure I'll think of something awesome.

Leave a Reply

