About 8 months ago I looked up alot of leaders and artists- Martin Luther King Jr., Nelson Mandela, Leonardo Da Vinci, Alphonse Mucha, Raphael and Gandhi. I looked up people that had qualities I admired, so I could combine some of those qualities into who I am, to be a better man. I saved alot of info about them on my dead (sigh) computer, but Gandhi I actually wrote down a few notes on in this journal. Here they are-

 

Gandhi dedicated his life to the wider purpose of discovering truth, or Satya. He tried to achieve this by learning from his own mistakes and conducting experiments on himself. He called his auto-biography “The Story of My Experiments with Truth “.

“The most important battle to fight was overcoming his own demons, fears and insecurities”- Gandhi

“When I despair, I remember that all through history the way of truth and love has always won. There have been tyrants and murderers and for a time they seem invincible, but in the end, they always fall- think of it, always” – Gandhi

“There are many causes I am prepared to die for, but no causes that I am prepared to kill for”

“I do believe, that where there is only a choice between cowardice and violence, I would advise violence”- Gandhi

Gandhi earnestly believed that a person involved with a social service should lead a simple life which he thought could lead to Brahmacharya

Reducing himself to zero:

-Giving up unnecessary expenditure

-Embracing a simple lifestyle

-Washing his own clothes

Gandhi spent one day of each week in silence. He believed that abstaining from speaking brought him inner peace.

Gandhi believed that at the core of every religion was truth and love (compassion, nonviolence and the Golden Rule)

“Christ gave us the goals and Mahatma Gandhi the tactics” – Martin Luther King Jr.

About thiskidanimation

I don't really know what to put here right now. I'm sure I'll think of something awesome.

Leave a Reply

