The simplest things remind us how much of a kid we are, how much farther we can go. I think even after 20 years of this journey I’ll feel that way, and that in itself is amazing.  ( quick note- I wrote this after I was animating for a little bit, and had realized for the past couple of pages I hadn’t been adding the inner ear line for one of my characters. It’s a small thing to miss, but it just struck me as funny as I was working. It was just cool to stumble upon that discovery while I was just enjoying myself completely by drawing.)

 

I’m starting to realize something. I don’t matter. Sounds weird? Bear with me. As I continue to strive for better, to grow, to evolve- I realize that it’s not so much that I’m trying to become a better man (well, I am but) – the true important thing is to do away with the idea of self, deconstruct what I think of myself as, and focus on becoming a concrete tangible symbol of the core principles and beliefs I have. Instead of being this certain guy or trying to be that, I want to be an embodiment of the values and principles I believe in with all my heart. I truly believe that there have always been men and women pursuing and upholding the beliefs I carry with me, and that’s awesome. Realizing that truly means if it wasn’t me, someone else would be doing this. I specifically, do not matter- no one is irreplaceable. And that’s, freedom. It allows me to just keep striving for what I believe in, and maintaining my core as much as possible. I can’t do it 100% of the time yet, but I’m only on the beginning of my journey.

Thich Nhat Hanh- awesome Vietnamese Bhuddist. His book “You are here” is the first book I got with Ali’s christmas gift (Borders gift card). I’m going to jot down any good info I read in here, so it will be easily accessible once I pass it on to others. The book is about discovering the magic of the present moment.

“Every twenty-four hour day is a tremendous gift to us”

“So we should all learn to live in a way that makes joy and happiness possible. We can do this. I begin my day by making an offering of incense while following my breath. I think to myself that this day is a day to live fully, and I make the vow to life each moment of it in a way that is beautiful, solid and free.”

“Breath in and tell yourself that a new day has been offered to you, and you have to be here to live it.”

About thiskidanimation

I don't really know what to put here right now. I'm sure I'll think of something awesome.

One response »

  1. Ashleigh says:

    Wow. What an entree.
    Can I be one of the people you pass that book onto?

Leave a Reply

