Sharing.

There’s alot of artwork and ideas I want to share with people. But not just the finished product, not just the end result of me creating something, but the beginning, the middle, and the end. I want to involve people in the early steps of the progress, the initial sparks of inspiration that take hold of me. Interaction with others in the early stages can take my work to levels previously untraveled, and there’s no telling what type of surprises await.

Friday was going to be one of those days where I could really see what kind of artwork I could do, when surrounded by other people doing their own thing,  but it didn’t turn out that way. One thing lead to another and plans fell through,  people couldn’t make it out and I wasn’t able to create in the environment I originally wanted to. But what I ended up creating that night was surprising on it’s own- the paths I was taking from one drawing to another, one page to another.  I first started with a few warm up sketches-

I used one of my notebooks that’s larger than my scanner, on a page that already had a few drawings on it. I like to warm-up using circles, dashes, bubble shapes- anything to really just get my hand warmed up. I went from there and moved on to this guy-

The bubbles and circles turned into that gross character you see on your left, and I went for a random skyline above him after his squid-form was all said and done. I did some sketching and doodles on the huge notebook I have in my room, 18×24 inches. I scanned in the images but found out the program I’m using (Corel Painter) doesn’t have a scale down function or a refined scissor tool (unless I just didn’t find them), so it’s difficult to piece them all together.

That’s the best I can do for now.  Messing around with markers got me thinking, how cool would it be if I could incorporate other mediums together? I’ve wanted to mess around with mixed media for awhile, now is the perfect time! So I was thinking about what kind of characters I could use, I already knew I wanted to use colored construction paper. So I did a few pages of doodles-

This guy on the last page of sketches, I could go somewhere with him. So I went further.

And so that’s how I ended up with those two colored paper characters. I just let everything around me fade away, and focused on creating. I focused, but at the same time I stopped caring, if that makes any sense at all.

Here are some other pages of stuff I drew that day-

Once I can figure out a better way to scan in the sketches I have on the 18×24 notebook, I’ll add those. I also want to do some Corel Painting Tests, which is what I’m going to use the squid monster and the cloud sketch page for. I also want to scan in a few animation tests and piece them together in Windows Movie Maker, see how that turns out. I also got a fair bit of writing down that night as well, just snippets for whatever creative mood I was in at the moment.  I have tomorrow off but I’m going in early today to spend a few hours in the kitchen and see how they work. Continual learning is what I’m going for, so I have to keep expanding my borders. More to come soon, don’t stray away too far!

About thiskidanimation

I don't really know what to put here right now. I'm sure I'll think of something awesome.

Leave a Reply

