As I’m sure you noticed, I haven’t published the 2 Dudes animation yet. There are a coupleof reasons, and here they are:


— First and foremost, I simply don’t give myself enough time. To achieve the level of quality I expect from myself from lengthy animations, I usually need to add at least 6-12
hours onto whatever random deadline I initially set out.  I spend countless hours looking at
scenes over and over again, constantly tweaking and trying to make my work better and
better. When I finish an animation, I want it to be work of the best quality I can put out at the current time, but I also need to set realistic goals.

— I looked over parts of the animation Saturday morning and I wasn’t satisifed with the results. I love the look of a picture done with the paintbrush, but it honestly is too difficult to achieve a similar line weight throughout an animation with that tool. You cankill yourself trying to constantly trim and add onto edges in an animation to make the lineweight seem uniform. The pencil tool is eight thousand times better (and easier) at this, so when I looked over parts (especially the intro) Saturday, I thought- why don’t I just use the pencil tool? I foolishly thought I could redo the entire thing with the pencil toolin a day and a half. Man I’m really dumb sometimes.


— Death in the family. I found out last Saturday around 10:30pm, that a family member of
mine had passed away. I was at work and it sucked, but it didn’t hit me fully until later. It might sound weird, but I felt better, when I was animating this project. I didn’t want it to end, so to speak, because then I’d have to deal with the reality of the situation. I’m usually a really private guy, but I realized that the death hit me alot deeper than I thought it would, and it’s hard for me to express that. So I just dove into this and didn’t want to get out. I used the Monday Brewery trip to not think about it, and the family stuff
I mentioned before on Tuesday was me spending time helping my family members get ready to go
to the funeral and dropping them off. I didn’t get to go, which sucks. I couldn’t go,
realistically, but I would have liked to be there. All these thoughts jumbled together and
hit me Saturday-Sunday. I’m constantly trying to improve myself, and a big thing about me is
I usually keep stuff in and work it out in my own way, eventually. In order to lead from the front and help people realize their potential, I need to be better. I need to be able to realize why I feel the way I do, talk to people about it, and move on.

I realized Sunday night I wasn’t going to finish in time for the due date. Apart of me feltlike I didn’t need to keep making “hey guys, it’s almost done I swear” posts. But after Monday morning when I edited some stuff and spent alot of time sleeping after animating so much Sunday, I decided I need to at least keep you guys up to date with what’s going on, there’s no need to keep you in the dark until I’m done. That’s kind of a chump move, and I’m not trying to be that guy. This needs to be done this week, and it will. I just don’t want to give a date. Whenever I give dates on personal projects, I never meet them, and I’m tired of that. I’m tired of pushing dates back and I’m tired of feeling like I’m not giving myself enough time. I have alot of the animation redone in pencil, and I’m just tweaking some stuff while I still have to do color and lighting for a few spots. I had to work today so a coworker who didn’t go on the brewery trip last monday could go today, but the good news is that I have tomorrow and Friday off. So although I need to keep taking breaks to keep from burning out creatively, I’m going to enfoce discipline and get it done so I can move on to the next project. So as always, I appreciate the support and the patience, check back when you can.

About thiskidanimation

I don't really know what to put here right now. I'm sure I'll think of something awesome.

Leave a Reply

