[Updated July 25, 11:52 a.m.] For her 9th birthday last month, Rachel Beckwith told people that instead of giving her presents, they should donate to a charity providing clean water to families in developing nations.

The Seattle-area girl came up with $220, short of her $300 goal.  She figured she’d try to raise more money next year.

Then came the crash.

Rachel died Saturday, taken off life support at a Seattle hospital three days after she and six other people were injured in a 14-vehicle pileup on Interstate 90 near her home in Bellevue, Washington, CNN affiliate KOMO reported.

But before her death, as word of Wednesday’s crash spread, so did news about Rachel’s fundraising wish. Her church took to Facebook, Twitter and its own website to promote her cause.

As of Monday morning, Rachel’s online fundraising page for the nonprofit group “charity: water” had landed more than $97,140 in donations, from more than 1,000 donors.

This is such an amazing story, I just found this after going to CNN. Here is how she explained why she wanted people to donate to charity for her birthday-

“On June 12th 2011, I’m turning 9. I found out that millions of people don’t live to see their 5th birthday. And why? Because they didn’t have access to clean, safe water so I’m celebrating my birthday like never before,” her fundraising page says. “I’m asking from everyone I know to donate to my campaign instead of gifts for my birthday.”

Can you believe that? That is awesome, and imagine how many people she has helped by doing that. This is exactly the type of stuff I want to spend my life doing!

About thiskidanimation

I don't really know what to put here right now. I'm sure I'll think of something awesome.

Leave a Reply

