It’s feeling the sun on your face, first thing in the morning. The laugh of a friend in a warm house on a cold night. It’s paint and clay made verbal, translucent but at the same time richer, deeper in color than they ever were. Poetry is life.

The dictionary definition of Poetry is “the art of rhythmical composition, written or spoken, for exciting pleasure by beautiful, imaginative, or elevated thoughts.” But there is so much more than that. There are different styles, subjects, methods and presentations covering this versatile art form. The first types of poetry that drew my eye were Epic Poems, poems like  the Epic of Gilgamesh.  I loved the Odyssey and the lliad when I was a kid- swords, epic battles, heroes and glorious deaths. But as I branched out to other styles and poets, I started to understand and enjoy the vast depth and array of subjects and topics to color the universe of poetry. You can go from  somber with Edgar Allen Poe, to comical thanks to Jack Prelutsky. Langston Hughes can paint a thousand pictures for you, or maybe a local poet makes your city’s dreams a temporary  reality. I’d like to share some poems I thought were cool.

A Dream Within A Dream by Edgar Allen Poe

  Take this kiss upon the brow!
And, in parting from you now,
Thus much let me avow–
You are not wrong, who deem
That my days have been a dream;
Yet if hope has flown away
In a night, or in a day,
In a vision, or in none,
Is it therefore the less gone?
All that we see or seem
Is but a dream within a dream.

I stand amid the roar
Of a surf-tormented shore,
And I hold within my hand
Grains of the golden sand–
How few! yet how they creep
Through my fingers to the deep,
While I weep–while I weep!
O God! can I not grasp
Them with a tighter clasp?
O God! can I not save
One from the pitiless wave?
Is all that we see or seem
But a dream within a dream?

About thiskidanimation

I don't really know what to put here right now. I'm sure I'll think of something awesome.

2 responses »

  1. Great post! It’s unfortunate that Langston Hughes’ more heart-breaking work continues to be so relevant.

    On the London Riots: Langston Hughes “Harlem” http://bit.ly/ou6bI0

Leave a Reply

