Tomorrow is promised to no one. You should never save something for later, because there might not be a later for you. Mortality is scary. When I was younger, I had a heart murmur. Heart murmurs are weird or extra/ unusual sounds during your heartbeat- this is caused by blood flowing through the valves and chambers in your heart. There are innocent and abnormal heart murmurs. Mine was abnormal, because one of the valves in my heart was narrower than it was supposed to be, so sometimes it would impede the blood flow.  Because of this, my doctor suggested against weightlifting when I got older, and football when I was younger. Soccer was ok, I think he said it would be less stressful on my heart.  Often I would get chest pains, and it felt like my heart would tighten up. Obviously when you’re 8-9 years old, this sucks.  I didn’t really have an understanding about death, except for when I was in 4th grade and one of my classmates died in his sleep. I think he had heart problems too, and it bugged me out.  I didn’t want to have a “long sleep” so soon, I still wanted to watch Power rangers and run around outside and ride my bike and do crap like that.  So anytime my chest would tighten up, I got this flash of fear that this was it, time to go, ya know?  That sucked, but I’m all about turning tragedies into triumphs, mistakes into miracles and the like. It really helped cement the idea in my head that hey- you don’t have forever.

My buddy Ali recently linked me to a page with the Manliest Quotes ever. Before you roll your eyes (too late) – I want to share some of the quotes and stories associated with them; not because they’re “MANLY!  RWAR !” , but because they’re about people who refuse to let society, the times or anyone else dictate how they will act or live their lives. It’s your life, you should do what you want with it. You have less time than you think left, so seize the day.

Because it’s there.

This was the terse response Mallory gave to a New York Times reporter, who wanted to know why he intended to climb Mt Everest. After all, even today people still die trying to climb the world’s tallest mountain, and this was back in 1923.  Mallory’s words sum up the inner desire to explore and achieve, not for any outward gain, but just for the hell of it.

Along with a companion, Mallory attempted to reach Everest’s summit in 1924, but the two disappeared near their destination. Mallory’s body was discovered in 1999, but to this day, nobody knows for sure if the men reached Everest’s summit before they died. If they did, they would have been the first: the next successful attempt would take another twenty-nine years.

Friends, I shall ask you to be as quiet as possible. I don’t know whether you fully understand that I have just been shot; but it takes more than that to kill a Bull Moose.

When he was campaigning in Milwaukee to try to regain his presidency, a would-be assassin shot Roosevelt in the chest with a .38 caliber pistol. The bullet pierced a bundle of paper – notes for a speech he was going to give – inside Roosevelt’s jacket, and lodged under one of his ribs. Good they didn’t use a teleprompter in those days.

So what did Roosevelt do in response to the attempted murder? He figured it was no big deal, and went on and gave the speech. Which sounds insane enough even before you consider that the speech went for ninety minutes. That would have been challenging enough for someone who wasn’t bleeding from a bullet to the chest. Roosevelt’s would-be assassin was caught, but actually got off lucky: the ex-President was known to regularly carry a concealed pistol.

1. Do what is right because it is right, and leave it alone.

The year was 1940, and the Nazis were about to invade Lithuania. Chiune Sugihara, employee at the local Japanese consul, found himself swamped by a desperate crowd of Jewish refugees. They needed transit visas so that the Soviets, then in power, would let them leave the country. Although Japan was technically a Nazi ally at the time, Sugihara decided “screw it” and started on a renegade visa-issuing rampage, working up to 20 hours a day to create thousands of life-saving permits. It’s estimated that 40,000 people are alive today because of what Sugihara did.

Unsurprisingly, Japan didn’t take kindly to this, and quickly ended Sugihara’s public service career, sending his family into poverty. Sugihara could have spent the rest of his life complaining about this. He didn’t, though, and also continually shrugged off any attention given to his heroics. Why? The answer lies in Sugihara’s quote, given in response to a question about why he’d chosen to help the refugees. He didn’t save lives in order to gain anything, or to impress anyone. He did it because it was right.

—–

Images and info courtesy of  TopTenz.net

About thiskidanimation

I don't really know what to put here right now. I'm sure I'll think of something awesome.

Leave a Reply

