UPDATE—When I posted this from my relic of a phone, it turned off and after restarting it, it didn’t show this post. After  being frustrated with my artwork for two hours, I just left all my artwork and went to my friends house for the night to unwind and re-post all this news  later on tonight. Now I get here (without the artwork) and I see that it’s posted and I feel doubly dumb. 83 people have already visited the page and I don’t even have any of the Granny artwork on hand to post up. My internet at my house is still off, which is why I was posting the update from my phone so I’m going to go to Kinko’s and scan the artwork in the morning.  With all the stress of packing and moving this has been a trainwreck of an afternoon, even though the day started out well. I promise the work I upload tomorrow will be worth the wait. Sorry again!

 

The granny character spotlight will be coming a little later tonight, i just want to take a quick second and explain my decision on the storybook. I’ve been sitting here for the past two hours looking at these finished panels and they simply are too small.

Because of all the scanner problems back with the little red design process, i switched everything to a small size to fit any household scanner- the measurements are 7.5×11 exactly. Looking at these now I don’t understand why I thought it was a good idea to put the text and pictures on the same page. It saved me pages and makes it look like a storybook, but the art suffers. I literally gave myself a 5.5 inch area to work with on each page and the story just feels constricted when I look at the overall pictures.

If you’ve followed my work in the past you know how stressed i get around deadlines and how I get nervous about my work looking crappy. Today is no exception except I literally have a table in front of me showing all the time and effort i put into this project and I know I want to end it on a good note. So I’ve decided to use 48 hours to transfer my works to full pages, this time 8×11. The difference is the text and imagery will be on separate pages, so my art can actually breathe. I hate not making another deadline but looking back at 2Dudes, I hate putting out bad quality work even more. So Thursday at 9pm, I can upload examples of these itty bitty pages and the full, expansive storybook as it should be seen. Thanks for the continued support.

About thiskidanimation

I don't really know what to put here right now. I'm sure I'll think of something awesome.

Leave a Reply

